Skip to content

Ten-Minute Studies In Natural History: Why I like The Study Of Natural History? Lecture 1.

July 21, 2022

“Chose only one master-Nature.” Rembrandt.

I have studied the natural world since I first noticed it existed; pretty early. I have always had an interest in the natural world and the creatures that occupy it. But why study it? What is the value of the natural history of the modern world and the non-humans who occupy it? What is the reason for this need to walk the woods and take notice of the world of other creatures. The need to walk through the woods or nature reserves of Oakdale Nature Reserve in Minnesota is to get in touch with something or to understand something or to just simply enjoy the wind through the trees and occasionally see the butt end of a deer vanish into the bush and trees. One can see the brief moments of other creatures going about their long or even brief lives if one is patient enough to walk through the trails and paths of places that call to be explored. Oakdale Nature Reserve has it’s whitetail deer, (Odocoileus virginianus), here and there. They are everywhere in Minnesota. Attempting to get a good photograph of them takes also much patience and effort as they are not interested in being seen let alone being photographed. Yet there is despite the common seeing of the whitetail of seeing one a simple pleasure of their existence. Their average, ordinary, and everywhere. What’s so great about them? What’s care about? Why care about their common existence? Well, that’s the point of studying natural history is to find those reasons to make them worth the effort of researching and studying. They are quiet creatures, they don’t want to be seen, and for the most part they are good at being not seen. It’s surprising how I can pass one and don’t realize I have passed one when I hear behind me scampering in the woods their obvious sounds of running or moving away. Sometimes I have encountered one that for a few seconds just stands there looking at me as if it’s not sure what to do. It moves away quickly though. Photos with them is difficult. They are not unpleasant creatures to see but their not the most interesting creatures running about; it’s their study that makes it important that they are worth the effort. I did have a very brief moment of seeing a red fox, (Vulpes vulpes), I saw the tail and I have seen enough foxes in Minnesota to know one when i see it and I know that fox sound. I’ve seen them down Gateway Trail as well. I keep looking out for the fox but it’s been a while since I heard or even seen a brief moment of red and white tail; not even a sound. Somewhere in that 220 acres is a fox; maybe one day I will spot him again. There are plenty of trails to walk about and disappear into and explore and hopefully see something worth the walk. Have seen of course the usual tree dwelling suspects called Eastern Grey Squirrel, (Sciurus carolinensis). I like squirrels; what’s there not to like? Their lives among the trees and ground and their constantly darting about is never dull. Though one would expect that on a 220 acre piece of land there would be more of them; not a very big population as far as I can see. These are the basic mammals I have seen at Oakdale Nature Reserve; I am sure there are others yet to see I have not noticed; they hide better than I do. (A lot of my information comes from the Stan Tekiela books on Minnesota creatures mentioned above). I have been into insects/Arthropods from the very beginning. I had an interest in ants before i even knew let alone read Edward O. Wilson’s book, “Naturalist.” (At the moment I am reading the biography, “Louis Agassiz: Creator of American Science.” By. Christoph Irmscher). Insects are everywhere. It’s a fact they are not going to not make themselves known. I finally saw a Monarch, (Danaus plexippus). Managed to take a photo before it flutter off as they usually do. No Swallowtail, (Papilio glaucus), sightings yet. Oddly enough I have seen very few sightings of frogs or toads; I usually see some and it’s been a while since I saw one.

This is nature at most commonest to the more interesting. That’s one of my reasons why I enjoy the simple act of studying the natural world; the natural world is never without it’s drama. What creatures did I possibly miss in my brief walk through the Oakdale Nature Reserve? It’s the reason I am going to attempt these Ten-Minute Studies into natural history; not sure it will be worth the effort or be worth reading but I do like studying, researching, and observing the world of nature. Blame it on Theodore Roosevelt, and even more lately the book, “The Naturalist, Theodore Roosevelt: A Lifetime Of Exploration, And The Triumph Of American Natural History.” By. Darrin Lunde. Great book on a great man and life. But I have always enjoyed nature as long as I can remember and it might be worth my effort to write about it and it gives me an excuse to get out more and write about the natural world. I may do some book reviews as well on the subject; a possibility anyway. I can think of several books on subjects and people certainly worth the effort; certainly Teddy Roosevelt. Teddy is my role model on many things and that includes this subject. He was a fascinating person and with many interests. But that’s all for possible later Ten-Minute Study on Teddy. I do have a book somewhere in here by John Muir as well; something else to write about later. Nature is fascinating in all it’s forms, worth studying and writing about.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment